skip navigation

MassProud 2021 Sportsmanship Award Recipients

By scott romer, 07/16/21, 12:30PM EDT



Massachusetts Hockey is excited to announce our 2021 Sportsmanship Award recipients.

Hannah Gerlach (Pembroke, Mass.), Maeve Glavin (Norwood, Mass.), Christopher Lee (Braintree, Mass.), Erin Murray (Hanover, Mass.) and William Sullivan (Wellesley, Mass.) were all chosen from an extraordinary group of applicants.

Each chosen recipient will be receiving a $2000 stipend award to put towards their education costs.

This award has been able to honor and spotlight many Massachusetts Hockey players who celebrate the principles of good sportsmanship epitomized by the spirit of respect, dignity, courtesy, responsible behavior and fair play, not only in sports, but in all of life’s endeavors.




Erin Murray, 19, from Hanover, graduated this spring from St. Marks School. She plans to attend and play hockey at Hobart and William Smith College.

She played both field hockey and ice hockey at St. Marks, while overcoming an ankle injury her first year attending St. Marks. Also, she participated with Hanover Youth Hockey and the Bay State Breakers.

"Sportsmanship, especially this year, goes beyond picking up an opponent’s stick or having a kind word for a referee. Perseverance, kindness, selflessness, and empathy for others can define sportsmanship as well. In a year like no other when none of us could not be faulted for thinking only of ourselves, there were people who thought of others. Erin Murray was one of those people who put her own dreams aside (for a while) and was there for others," said Coach Brian Kennedy, Bay State Breakers.

"Currently as a senior, I do my best to be outgoing and encourage the younger players all the time. If someone looks upset or frustrated, I’ll be sure to let them know I am there for them. I will always be my teammates biggest supporters," wrote Erin in her application essay.